2009 CAJ award winners

Congratulations to the CAJ Awards winners

MONTREAL, May 29 /CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists, Canada’s only national professional organization for reporters, editors, producers and photographers, announced the winners of the annual CAJ Awards for journalism tonight at the association’s Awards gala held in conjunction with its annual national conference in Montreal.

The CAJ’s top award for investigative journalism in Canada, the Don McGillivray Award for Investigative Journalism, was presented to Gordon Hoekstra of the Prince George Citizen for his story Downtown Fix.

The CAJ awards are Canada’s only recognition for the best in investigative journalism across the country.

The winner in the OPEN NEWSPAPER/WIRE SERVICE (circulation greater than 25,000) category is:

Linda Gyulai
The Water Meter Series
The Gazette


The winner in the COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER category is:

Gordon Hoekstra
Downtown Fix
Prince George Citizen

The winners in the OPEN TELEVISION (greater than 5 minutes) category are:

Robert Osborne, Victor Malarek, Patti-Ann Finlay, Anton Koschany, Brett Mitchell
Beyond Justice


The winners in the OPEN TELEVISION (Less than 5 minutes) category are:

Lynn Burgess and Laurie Graham
E-Health Ontario Scandal
CBC News: The National


The winner in the REGIONAL TELEVISION category is:

Chris O’Neill-Yates
Who’s minding the kids
CBC News: Newfoundland


The winners in the OPEN RADIO NEWS/CURRENT AFFAIRS category are:

Tina Pittaway and Neil Sandell
Risky Business
CBC Radio One


The winners in the CAJ/Marketwire COMPUTER-ASSISTED REPORTING (CAR) category are:

Glen McGregor and Stephen Maher
Dangling the Dollars
The Ottawa Citizen/Chronicle Herald


The winner in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category is:

Louie Palu
The Front Line
Zuma Press


The winner in the MAGAZINE category is:

Michael Friscolanti
After the Detention, A Betrayal


The winner in the FAITH AND SPIRITUALITY category is:

Maureen Brosnahan
The Least of These
CBC Radio


The winner in the SCOOP category is:

Alison Crawford
Bishop Lahey
CBC National Radio News


The winner in the DAILY EXCELLENCE category is:

John Vennavally-Rao
Metro Storms
CTV News


The winner in the PRINT FEATURE category is:

Matthieu Aikins
Unembedded in Afghanistan
The Coast


The winner for the CAJ/CNW Student Award of Excellence is:

David Karp
$117 Million of Prime Toxic Land
McMaster University

Congratulations to all the winners of the CAJ awards.

The Canadian Association of Journalists is a professional organization with about 900 members across Canada. The CAJ’s primary roles are public interest advocacy work and professional development for its members.

For further information: John Dickins, Executive Director, CAJ, Contact via e-mail: canadianjour@magma.ca, Cell phone (613) 868-5442

Share this Post: