Photo Gallery


Congratulations to the 2017 CAJ Award recipients!

TORONTO, May 5, 2018 / CNW /—The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 CAJ Awards for outstanding investigative journalism. This included presenting the McGillivray Award to the team behind Unfounded, published by the Globe and Mail, rec...

Read More

Marie-Maude Denis wins CAJ Charles Bury President’s Award

TORONTO, May 5, 2018 /CNW/ - The Canadian Association of Journalists recognized Radio-Canada investigative reporter Marie-Maude Denis with the CAJ Charles Bury Award at its annual awards gala at the Hyatt Regency Hotel on May 5. The award is given under circumstances of exceptional merit to those p...

Read More


The Law Commission of Ontario (LCO) has commenced public consultations in its Defamation Law in the Internet Age project. The project considers how defamation law should be updated to account for “internet speech,” including social media, blogs, internet platforms and digital media. ...

Read More

#CAJ18 call for volunteers

We’re looking to recruit digital reporters to chronicle the happenings at #CAJ18.   Whether your interests are in audio, video, text, or social, this is a great opportunity for you to beef up your portfolio. You will also receive a full pass to the two-day conference (May 4-5, 2018) and ...

Read More

Mind the gap: panel on 'ethnic' and 'mainstream' media relationship

As the journalism industry endures constant change, niche publications can get lost in the shuffle. Find out how some members of the ethnic press have handled their own evolution—and what lessons the mainstream media can learn. In addition to discussing collaboration, they will also add...

Read More

Remembering Tyler Bieber, journalist killed in Saskatchewan crash

We would like to express our deepest sympathies to the families and friends of the 15 victims of the Humboldt Broncos hockey team bus crash, including Tyler Bieber, a young sports journalist. The junior hockey team had been on their way to Nipawin, Sask., for a semifinal game when the crash occurre...

Read More

Congratulations to the 2017 CAJ Awards finalists!

OTTAWA, March 29, 2018 and April 2, 2018 /CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the finalists for its annual awards for outstanding investigative journalism in Canada published or broadcast in 2017. The recipients in each category will be announced May 5 at the...

Read More

Quebec court is wrong to demand Radio-Canada journalist sources: CAJ

OTTAWA, Mar. 24, 2018 — A Quebec Superior Court demand that Radio-Canada investigative journalist Marie-Maude Denis reveal confidential sources is wrongheaded and damaging to constitutionally guaranteed press freedom, said the Canadian Association of Journalists. A ruling handed down by Justi...

Read More

Pelham town officials cannot ignore local journalists

OTTAWA / March 20, 2018 / — Elected officials in Pelham, Ont., appear to have forgotten journalists are a staple of democracy. The mayor and town councillors, along with municipal staff, have reportedly spent several weeks ignoring the only news outlet covering most local issues. Pelham must r...

Read More

Daniel Dale, Katie Benner and Amy King headline CAJ national conference

The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce its lineup of keynote speakers for its 40th annual national conference on May 4-5 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Toronto. Delegates will hear from the Toronto Star’s man in Washington, Daniel Dale, who will reflect on his exhaustiv...

Read More


The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of its annual awards for outstanding investigative journalism in Canada published or broadcast in 2016. Check out the full list of winners!

We also handed out the Code of Silence award to Ontario's Office of the Fire Marshal and the CAJ Charles Bury Award to the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network.


Photo courtesy heipei via Flickr

We were so excited for this year’s national conference on April 28-29 in Ottawa. As journalism continues to take a hit, with layoffs piling up and continued attacks on press freedom, we know it's not easy in Canadian newsrooms. And we also know this:


So we rallied in Ottawa. Our delgates and presenters collaborated on valuable discussions on press freedom, freelancing, interviewing, data, ethics and more—and they networked throughout.

If you missed the conference, check out the #CAJ17 page and browse the liveblogs we offered for every single session.

Connect with CAJ