The Canadian Association of Journalists runs an annual awards program that recognizes the best in Canadian journalism—with a particular focus on investigative work. Entries are welcome from any practising journalist whose work has been published or broadcast in Canada.

A call for entries is usually issued in December or January, with a submission deadline in late January or early February. Once judging is complete, we release a list of the finalists in each category. The winning entry in each category is announced as part of our annual conference’s banquet. CAJ conferences usually run in May or June.

Learn more about our categories and previous winners at the links below.

To go straight to the submission portal, click here.


Journalism is community. Pure and simple. Whether it’s through collaborative storytelling or engaging new audiences, this year’s CAJ national conference will dive deep into how the idea of community is wholly intertwined within journalism’s DNA. From an opening plenary right throu...

Read More


OTTAWA, Jan. 8, 2019 - The Canadian Association of Journalists reminds journalists that less than a week remains to submit entries for the 2018 CAJ Awards program, featuring Canada's top investigative journalism award, the Don McGillivray Award. The deadline for e...

Read More


It’s with pleasure that the Canadian Association of Journalists invites entries for its annual awards program — which includes Canada’s top investigative award, the Don McGillivray Award. The application deadline for the CAJ Awards is Jan. 14, 2019. Click here to submit an entry ...

Read More


TORONTO / July 18, 2018 — The Canadian Association of Journalists, the Centre for Free Expression, News Media Canada and the Canadian Journalists for Free Expression are inviting nominations for the Code of Silence Award for outstanding achievement in government secrecy. The award wil...

Read More


OTTAWA – The Delegation of the European Union to Canada and the Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) are pleased to announce the three winners of the 2018 EU-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship. The laureates will participate in a week-long study tour of European Union institutions in Bru...

Read More

Congratulations to the 2017 CAJ Award recipients!

TORONTO, May 5, 2018 / CNW /—The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 CAJ Awards for outstanding investigative journalism. This included presenting the McGillivray Award to the team behind Unfounded, published by the Globe and Mail, rec...

Read More

Marie-Maude Denis wins CAJ Charles Bury President’s Award

TORONTO, May 5, 2018 /CNW/ - The Canadian Association of Journalists recognized Radio-Canada investigative reporter Marie-Maude Denis with the CAJ Charles Bury Award at its annual awards gala at the Hyatt Regency Hotel on May 5. The award is given under circumstances of exceptional merit to those p...

Read More

Announcing the 2018 Aboriginal Investigative Journalism Fellow

TORONTO, May 4, 2018 /CNW/ - APTN and Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) are pleased to announce Jamuna Galay-Tamang as the 2018 Aboriginal Investigative Journalism Fellow. Galay-Tamang is of Dene-Metis and Nepali heritage and has joined the team at APTN Investigates based in Winnipeg fo...

Read More

#CAJ18 call for volunteers

We’re looking to recruit digital reporters to chronicle the happenings at #CAJ18.   Whether your interests are in audio, video, text, or social, this is a great opportunity for you to beef up your portfolio. You will also receive a full pass to the two-day conference (May 4-5, 2018) and ...

Read More

Mind the gap: panel on 'ethnic' and 'mainstream' media relationship

As the journalism industry endures constant change, niche publications can get lost in the shuffle. Find out how some members of the ethnic press have handled their own evolution—and what lessons the mainstream media can learn. In addition to discussing collaboration, they will also add...

Read More