CAJ Awards

The Canadian Association of Journalists runs an annual awards program that recognizes the best in Canadian journalism—with a particular focus on investigative work. Entries are welcome from any practising journalist whose work has been published or broadcast in Canada.

A call for entries is usually issued in December or January, with a submission deadline in late January or early February. Once judging is complete, we release a list of the finalists in each category. The winning entry in each category is announced as part of our annual conference’s banquet. CAJ conferences usually run in May or June.

Learn more about our categories and previous winners at the links below.

Deadline extended for the Aboriginal Investigative Journalism Fellowship

Deadline extended for the Aboriginal Investigative Journalism Fellowship WINNIPEG, Sept. 20, 2016- The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) and Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) have extended the deadline for the inaugural Aboriginal Investigative Journalism Fellowship. Application instructions are available on both the APTN and CAJ websites. *Deadline for receipt of applications is 11:59 p.m. ET on […]

Announcing the recipients of the 2016 EU-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship

OTTAWA – The European Union Delegation to Canada and the Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) are pleased to announce the three winners of the 2016 EU-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship who will participate in a week-long study tour of European Union institutions in Brussels and Strasbourg in October. Prior to the study tour, the winners will […]

Fellowship for Aboriginal Investigative Journalism

The selection process is chaired by the CAJ, to ensure the highest journalistic standards are upheld. The Fellowship is administered by APTN, and is funded by APTN. Click here for application instructions. Fellowship Guidelines Fellowship recipients will produce a 22-minute original investigative documentary providing information, analysis, and insight on an issue facing First Nation, Métis […]

Congratulations to our CAJ Awards winners

EDMONTON, May 29, 2016 /CNW/ – In a year when Canada’s national media finally awoke to the tragedies of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, the work by our national public broadcaster set the standard. The CBC News Aboriginal team, supported by others across the CBC News team, are the recipients of the 2015 Don McGillivray […]

The 2016 CAJ Charles Bury Award looks inward

EDMONTON, May 28, 2016 — Three longtime leaders of the Canadian Association of Journalists who’ve fought back against industry trends—and never stopped playing vital roles at the CAJ—were recipients of the 2016 CAJ Charles Bury Award. Former CAJ presidents Hugo Rodrigues and Paul Schneidereit, as well as chair Dale Bass, accepted the award at the […]

Congratulations to all the 2015 CAJ Awards finalists!

The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the finalists for its annual awards for outstanding investigative journalism in Canada published or broadcast in 2015.

CAJ and AKFC announce three international development reporting fellows

OTTAWA / Feb. 1 2016 / CNW – From Liberia to Kenya, and all the way to the tiny island nation of Kiribati, three Canadian journalists are about to spread out across the globe to bring the world’s stories home to Canadians. Aga Khan Foundation Canada and the Canadian Association of Journalists are pleased to […]

Meet the 2016 international development reporting fellows

We’re thrilled to join Aga Khan Foundation Canada in announcing this year’s recipients of the Fellowship for International Development Reporting: Ottawa Citizen columnist Shannon Gormley, CTV’s Kayla Hounsell, and freelance journalist Marc-André Sabourin. Scroll down to learn more about the ambitious fellowship projects they’ll produce over the next year. Shannon Gormley Shannon Gormley is a […]

Spotlight: CBC Edmonton’s 2014 Don McGillivray Award winner

Go behind the scenes on Canada's best investigative reporting

Call for entries for the 2015 CAJ Awards

It’s with pleasure that the Canadian Association of Journalists invites entries for its annual awards program — which includes Canada’s top investigative award, the Don McGillivray Award. The application deadline for the CAJ Awards is Feb. 5, 2016. The deadline for the CAJ / CNW Group Student Award of Excellence is Feb. 28, 2016. Finalists […]