Entries now open for the 2012 CAJ Awards!

It’s with pleasure that the Canadian Association of Journalists invites entries for its annual awards program — which includes Canada’s top investigative award, the Don McGillivray Award.

The application deadline for the CAJ Awards is Feb. 8, 2013

The deadline for the CAJ / CNW Group Student Award of Excellence is Feb. 28, 2013.

Finalists should be announced in late March, with the awards presented during the CAJ’s annual conference in Ottawa, May 3-5, 2013.

Please download the information packages and posters you need below. This information is also available on this page of this site.

The entry packages:

Information on the investigative, general and student awards is available here.

Entry instructions (online submission) are available here.

Fees have changed for the 2012 program! We listened to feedback from the last few years and revised entry fees as a result. CAJ members (whether entering as individuals or as part of a team entry) continue to receive substantial discounts over non-members when entering the CAJ awards program. CAJ student members are eligible to submit entries at no cost. The revised fee structure recognizes many entries are done by teams of journalists, often a combination of of CAJ members and non-members. To become a member, register online here. Teams only pay fees for the first four team members. Please note the new fee structure:

  • member fee – $30
  • non-member fee – $110
  • two-person team entry for CAJ members – $50
  • two-person team entry (1 or more non-members) – $200
  • three-person team entry for CAJ members – $80
  • three-person team entry (1 or more non-members) – $275
  • teams larger than three people, CAJ members – $100
  • teams larger than three people (1 or more non-members) – $325
  • student entries for CAJ members – FREE
  • student team entries (at least two people on the team MUST be CAJ student members) – FREE for two- and three-person teams, $60 for teams above three people
* student entries for non-members (from individuals) are not permitted

To read past CAJ Award winners’ stories and see how they did it, check out the awards editions of Media Magazine, which are archived here.

Good luck to all entrants!

Questions? Please contact the CAJ Awards committee.

Share this Post: